TRILATERAL COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP

TRILATERAL COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP

When the Trilateral Commission was first launched, the plan was for an equal number of members from each of the three regions. The numbers soon began to grow, and ceilings were imposed in about 1980. The European ceiling has been raised somewhat since then as new countries came to be represented in the group. The European group now has a ceiling of 150 members. The ceiling for the North American group is 100, including 15 Canadian members and 85 U.S. members. The Japanese group has a ceiling of 85 members. To help preserve the Commission's unofficial character, members who take up positions in their national Administration give up Trilateral Commission membership. New members are chosen on a national basis. The procedures used for rotation off and for invitation of new members vary from national group to national group. Three Chairmen (one from each region), Deputy Chairmen and Directors constitute the leadership of the Trilateral Commission, along with an Executive Committee including 36 other members. The full membership list is available from any of the regional offices.

CHAIRMEN, DEPUTY CHAIRMEN AND DIRECTORS OF THE TRILATERAL COMMISSION

North American Chairman: PAUL A. VOLCKER

Former Chairman, Board of Governors, U.S. Federal Reserve System; former Chairman, Wolfensohn & Co., Inc.; Frederick H. Schultz Professor Emeritus of International Economic Policy, Princeton University

European Chairman: OTTO GRAF LAMBSDORFF

Member of German Bundestag; Chairman, Friedrich Naumann Foundation; Honorary Chairman, Free Democratic Party; former Federal Minister of Economy and President of the Liberal International

> Japanese Chairman: <u>YOTARO KOBAYASHI</u> Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Fuji Xerox Co., Ltd.

North American Deputy Chairman: <u>ALLAN E. GOTLIEB</u> Consultant, Stikeman Elliot; former Canadian Ambassador to the United States

European Deputy Chairman: <u>CARLOS FERRER</u> Chairman, Ferrer International Group, Barcelona; Chairman, International Vienna Council; President, High Council of Spanish Chambers of Commerce, Industry and Shipping; former President, EU Economic and Social Committee

> Japanese Deputy Chairman: <u>SHIJURO OGATA</u> Senior Advisor, Yamaichi Securities Company, Ltd.

Founder and Honorary Chairman: DAVID ROCKEFELLER

North American Director: CHARLES B. HECK European Director: PAUL RÉVAY Japanese Director: TADASHI YAMAMOTO

CILLANCE COMMITTEE COMMISSION CILLANCE COMPANIE COMPANE CILLANCE COMPANE CILLANCE COMPANE CILLANCE COMPANE CILLANCE COMPANE CILLANCE CILLANCE COMPANE CILLANCE CILLANCE

Michel Albert, Membre de l'Institut de France; Member of the Council for Monetary Policy of the Banque de France, Paris; former Chairman, Assurances Générales de France Stelios Argyros, Member of the European Parliament; Vice-President of UNICE, Brussels; former President of the Greek Employers Confederation, Athens

C. Fred Bergsten, Director, Institute for International Economics; former U.S. Assistant Secretary of the Treasury for International Affairs

Georges Berthoin, International Honorary Chairman, European Movement; Honorary European Chairman, The Trilateral Commission, Paris

Jorge Braga de Macedo, Professor of Economics, Nova University at Lisbon; Chairman, Forum Portugal Global; former Minister of Finance

Zbigniew Brzezinski, Counselor, Center for Strategic and International Studies; Robert Osgood Professor of American Foreign Affairs, Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, John Hopkins University; former U.S. Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs Hervé de Carmoy, Chairman, Banque Industrielle et Mobilière Privée, Paris; former Chief Executive, Société Générale de Belgique

Umberto Colombo, Chairman, Fondation LEAD (Leadership for Environment and Development), Rome; former Italian Minister for Universities, Science and Technology

Jessica P. Einhorn, Managing Director for Finance and Resource Mobilization, World Bank Koichiro Ejiri, Senior Advisor to the Board, Mitsui & Co., Ltd.

Oscar Fanjul, Honorary Chairman, Repsol, Madrid

L. Yves Fortier, Senior Partner, Ogilvy Renault, Barristers & Solicitors, Montreal; former Canadian Ambassador and Permanent Representative to the United Nations Paolo Fresco, Vice Chairman of the Board and Executive Officer, The General Electric Company Toyoo Gyohten, President, The Institute for International Monetary Affairs; Senior Advisor, The Bank of Tokyo-Mitsubishi, Ltd.

Robert D. Haas, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Levi Strauss & Co. Miguel Herrero de Miñon, Lawyer, International Consultant; Member of the Royal Spanish Academy of Political and Moral Sciences; former Member of Spanish Parliament Takashi Hosomi, Chairman, NLI Research Institute; former Chairman, The Overseas Economic Cooperation Fund

Max Jakobson, Independent Consultant and Senior Columnist, Helsinki; former Finnish Ambassador to the United Nations; former Chairman of the Finnish Council of Economic Organizations

Baron Daniel Janssen, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Solvay, Brussels Sir Michael Jenkins, Vice Chairman, Kleinwort Benson Group, London; former British Ambassador

Cees Maas, Member of the Executive Board and Chief Financial Officer of the ING Group, Amsterdam; former Treasurer of the Dutch Government

Minoru Makihara, President, Mitsubishi Corporation

Kiichi Miyazawa, Member of the House of Representatives; former Prime Minister of Japan Mario Monti, Member of the European Commission, Brussels; former President & Rector, Bocconi University, Milan

Minoru Murofushi, President and Chief Executive Officer, ITOCHU Corporation Joseph S. Nye, Jr., Dean, Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University; former U.S. Assistant Secretary of Defense for International Security Affairs

Yoshio Okawara, Executive Advisor, Keidanren (Japan Federation of Economic Organizations); former Ambassador to the United States

Kiichi Saeki, Senior Advisor, Institute for International Policy Studies Guido Schmidt-Chiari, Chairman, Constantia Group; former Chairman, Creditanstalt Bankverein, Vienna

Peter Shore, Member of the House of Lords, London Myles Staunton, Member of Senate, Irish Republic TRILATERAL COMMISSION MEMBERSHIP

Thorvald Stoltenberg, Former Co-Chairman (UN) of the Steering Committee of the International Conference on Former Yugoslavia; former Foreign Minister of Norway; Ambassador of Norway to Denmark Björn Svedberg, Chairman, Ericsson, Stockholm; former President and Group Chief Executive, Skandinaviska Enskilda Banken Niels Thygesen, Professor of Economics, Economics Institute, University of Copenhagen Norbert Wieczorek, Member of the German Bundestag; Chairman of the Committee for European Union Affairs, Bonn Otto Wolff von Amerongen, Chairman, East Committee of the German Industry; Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Otto Wolff Industrieberatung und Beteiligung, Cologne